Great Leighs Free Church

Readings 24 August to 4 October

THE PARABLES OF JESUS

There are forty one Parables of Jesus recorded in the Gospels of which Luke has the largest number, being twenty eight, followed by Matthew and Mark.  John does not record any of the Parables of Jesus.  We are going to read all of them, in a way that gives us the chance to review how each Gospel writer depicts them for his own individual audience.  Some Parables consist of just one or two verses.  If you have any comments of questions relating to the different versions of the Parable, please share.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 24TH AUGUST

Monday 24th August

Matthew Ch. 5 v 14 to 15

Mark Ch. 4 v 21 to 22

Luke Ch. 8 v 16

Luke Ch. 11 v 33

Lamp Under A Bowl.

Tuesday 25th August

Matthew Ch. 7 v 24 to 27

Luke Ch. 6 v 47 to  49

Wise And Foolish Builders.

Wednesday 26th August

Matthew Ch. 9 v 16 to 17

Mark Ch. 2 v 21 to 22

Luke Ch. 5 v 36 to 38

New Cloth On An Old Coat And New Wine In Old Wineskins.

Thursday 27th August

Matthew Ch. 13 v 3 to 8 and v 18 to 23

Sower And The Soils.

Friday 28th August

Mark Ch. 4 v 3 to 8

and v 14 to 20

Sower And The Soils.

Saturday 29th August

Luke Ch. 8 v 5 to 8

and v 11 to 15

Sower And The Soils.

Sunday 30th August

Matthew Ch. 13 v 24 to 30

and v 36 to 43

Weeds.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 31ST AUGUST

Monday 31st August

Matthew Ch. 13 v 31 to 32

Mark Ch. 4 v 30 to 32

Luke Ch. 13 v 18 to 19

Mustard Seed.

Tuesday 1st September

Matthew Ch. 13 v 33

Luke Ch. 13 v 20 to 21

Yeast.

Wednesday 2nd September

Matthew Ch. 13 v 44

and  to 45 to 46

Hidden Treasure

 And Valuable Pearl.

Thursday 3rd September

Matthew Ch. 13 v 47 to 50

and  v 52

Net And

Owner Of A House.

Friday 4th September

Matthew Ch. 18 v 12 to 14

Luke Ch. 15 v 4 to 7

Lost Sheep.

Saturday 5th September

Matthew Ch. 18 v 23 to 34

Unmerciful Servant.

Sunday 6th September

Matthew Ch. 20 v 1 to 16

Workers In The Vineyard.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 7TH SEPTEMBER

Monday 7th September

Matthew Ch. 21 v 28 to 32

Two Sons.

Tuesday 8th September

Matthew Ch. 21 v 33 to 44

Tenants.

Wednesday 9th September

Mark Ch. 12 v 1 to 11

Tenants.

Thursday 10th September

Luke Ch. 20 v 9 to 18

Tenants.

Friday 11th September

Matthew Ch. 22 v 2 to 14

Wedding Banquet.

Saturday 12th September

Matthew Ch. 24 v 32 to 35

Mark Ch. 13 v 28 to 29

Luke Ch. 21 v 29 to 31

Fig Tree.

Sunday 13th September

Matthew Ch. 24 v 45 to 51

Luke Ch. 12 v 42 to 48

Faithful And Wise Servant.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 14TH SEPTEMBER

Monday 14th September

Matthew Ch. 25 v 1 to 13

Ten Virgins.

Tuesday 15th September

Matthew Ch. 25 v 14 to 30

Talents.

Wednesday 16th September

Luke Ch. 19 v 12 to 27

Talents.

Thursday 17th September

Matthew Ch. 25 v 31 to 46

Sheep And Goats.

Friday 18th September

Mark Ch. 4 v 26 to 29

Growing Seed.

Saturday 19th September

Mark Ch. 13 v 35 to 37

Luke Ch. 12 v 35 to 40

Watchful Servants.

Sunday 20th September

Luke Ch. 7 v 41 to 43

Money Lender.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 21ST SEPTEMBER

Monday 21st September

Luke Ch. 10 v 30 to 37

Good Samaritan.

Tuesday 22nd September

Luke Ch. 11 v 5 to 8

Friend In Need.

Wednesday 23rd September

Luke Ch. 12 v 16 to 21

Rich Fool.

Thursday 24th September

Luke Ch. 13 v 6 to 9

Unfruitful Fig Tree.

Friday 25th September

Luke Ch. 14 v 7 to 14

Lowest Seat At The Feast.

Saturday 26th September

Luke Ch. 14 v 16 to 24

Great Banquet.

Sunday 27th September

Luke Ch. 14 v 28 to 33

Cost Of Discipleship.

 

WEEK COMMENCING 28TH SEPTEMBER

Monday 28th September

Luke Ch. 15 v 8 to 10

Lost Coin.

Tuesday 29th September

Luke Ch. 15 v 11 to 32

Prodigal Son.

Wednesday 30th September

Luke Ch. 16 v 1 to 8

Shrewd Manager.

Thursday 1st October

Luke Ch. 16 v 19 to 31

Rich Man And Lazarus.

Friday 2nd October

Luke Ch. 17 v 7 to 10

Master And His Servant.

Saturday 3rd October

Luke Ch. 18 v 2 to 8

Persistent Widow.

Sunday 4th October

Luke Ch. 18 v 10 to 14

Pharisee And Tax Collector.